Finding a sense of direction

It’s been 2 weeks since my youngest son left home for University. I’ve got a full time job, however it’s not stopped me feeling just a tad depressed. Then I gave myself a mental shake – it’s just another marker, another chapter in life beginning. And I got over myself, which I am proud of. I visited a farmer who is starting to make raw milk cheese. In the course of looking for my old cheese recipes for him, I came across The Spanish Kitchen, Pepita Aris. So I’ve carted this book across the country, moved at least 4 times with it, and have never cooked so much as a soup recipe from it. Bear with me, this is linked to my son leaving home. Suddenly mealtimes have gone weird – I don’t have to cook what someone else wants, or cook around what someone else wants to eat. I like lots of things that I’ve rarely eaten for yonks because no-one else liked them. So I decided I would work through the book – a recipe a day, just for fun. And if at the end, I haven’t liked many of the recipes, I can pass the book on, knowing I have at least tried!

So – tapas are the first section. Calls for a glass of wine and I can feel the sun already!

aceitunas alinadas – marinated olives. I can’t eat them for another week according to the recipes, but how cool do they look!

20170929_085436

About Huron 2020

Live in rural Yorkshire Dales. Like the usual stuff - walking,drawing, photography, new places, new people, wine-making, cooking, fishing, watching the world go by, travel and a good night out. Like what you see? Buy me a coffee on buymeacoffee.com/huron :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment